Windows not detecting DVD device

Among the many other things that have gone wrong this week, seems that something I wouldn’t
expect to go back, went bad. Sort of the last thing I would think I would need to fix.

Somehow my DVD RW device on my laptop got corrupted.

I have an Optiarc DVD RW in my laptop. And for two days now it apparently hadn’t been
functioning properly. I don’t know, it was working fine when I was watching House on DVD.
But I needed the drive to work to use Magic Jack. A wonderful invention of VOIP technology
that I highly recommend if you have a broadband internet connection, know how to use a
computer or have someone around that knows how to use a computer.

But that’s another topic. Let’s stick to this problem.

I had tried to use Magic Jack today and as I usually just plug it into one of my freed up USB ports
on my laptop, I got an error message that said I needed to plug it into a USB port. So I took it out,
and plugged it in another free port on my laptop. Same error message.

So I looked in My Computer icon and noticed that only the USB icon was there for magic jack. Usually there is also a CD ROM there as well, even though you don’t use a CD to install or use Magic Jack. So that confused me at first.

Then I inserted a CD into the DVD drive to see what would happen. And then I saw that nothing appeared
in My Computer. No drive, no nothing.

So I went into device manager to see what was going on and I found that oddly enough,
there was a problem with the driver of my Optiarc DVD device. It had a yellow sign on
the drive. I was confused because optical drives don’t need drivers in versions of Windows
after 95, so I couldn’t have needed to reinstall the drivers.

So I went looking on the internet to see what was going on.

That’s when I came across this enlightening forum article:
http://forums.driverguide.com/showthread.php?t=41081&vforum=0c3238d3

It seems that the problem was that my DVD device was not being detected by Windows Vista.

Why?

I still don’t know.

A corruption in the drivers? I don’t know.

But the fix worked perfectly. So I catalog it here.
http://forums.driverguide.com/showthread.php?t=21669&page=4

I will also write out what to do as well.

Simple solution:

Situation
There is a yellow exclamation mark for CD/DVD drives in Device Manager.
The device status in the properties of the driver might indicate an error code,
for example 32, 37, or 39. Or the drive simply does not appear in My Computer or
Device Manager.

Solution:

To solve the issue, you have to edit the Windows Registry:
Click Start, then Run, type REGEDIT or REGEDIT32and click OK.

Locate and then remove the following registry values:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE SYSTEM CurrentControlSet Control Class {4D36E965-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}LowerFilters

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE SYSTEM CurrentControlSet Control Class {4D36E965-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}UpperFilters

Close Registry Editor.
Reboot the system for the changes to take effect.

Note: Some programs are unable to detect the CD/DVD drive after these steps.
To solve this, simply re-install the program in question, eg: usually your recording software.
Also, in few instances the order in which the programs are (re-)installed can make a difference.

And so I follow the above instructions and rebooted my laptop. And sure enough
When desktop came back up, I plugged Magic Jack into my laptop again and
just like Magic (get it?) it worked!

Explore posts in the same categories: 1

Leave a Reply

