Salvaging or upgrading the hard drive inside those External USB Harddrives.

**BEFORE READING THIS POST, NOTE THE PROCESSES IN WHICH ARE DISCUSSED IN THE FOLLOWING BLOG ARE NOT GUARANTEED BY WARRANTY. PERFORMING SAID ACTIONS IN THE BELOW POST WILL MOST LIKELY VOID OUT ANY WARRANTY YOU MAY HAVE WITH THE DEVICE MANUFACTURER.

TAKE NOTE THAT TAMPERING WITH ANY DEVICE IS LIKELY TO VOID THE WARRANTY AND SHOULD
ONLY BE DONE SO BY SOMEONE WHO KNOWS WHAT THEY ARE DOING. OR IF YOU DON’T CARE.**

I recently got a digital tape camera for Christmas. My first motion capture camera.  So I was real excited.
being the forward thinking person that I am, I thought about the stuff I was gonna need or want to have in order
to make videos and post them up on youtube and myspace and this site (eventually).

So I went out and bought myself a nice 1 Terabyte Seagate FreeAgent External Hard drive. I figured this would be easier
to use in the long run than and internal hard drive and I could use it anywhere (practically).

This was the biggest hard drive I had at the moment, and it did it’s job by saving my captured video digitally via my computer hardware. It was very easy to use, required no drivers or installation on my part.

Then one day it stopped working. And there was video information on the drive that I really needed to get back. Because this was the sole drive for my raw video feed stuff. I was mad and immediately went to the Seagate website (http://www.seagate.com/www/en-us/products/external/) and found that they had minor solutions for data recovery on their site. In case someone cannot access or somehow loses the data on their external drives. Maybe one day you plug it into your trusty windows machine and something is missing. Or the whole thing sudden shows up blank. That type of thing.

My problem was a bit worse. I couldn’t access the drive at all in Windows anymore. The USB connection suddenly failed completely. However the power still worked beautifully, so I wasn’t totally in the mud.

So that idea wasn’t for me with this particular situation.

So I looked at the hard drive and started to think how I could get inside. Maybe the USB connection to the hard drive inside was just loose or disconnected. I was hoping at this point that that was the case. No worries then, just crack it open, and re-secure that connection and put it back together again and that would be the end of it.

Well, before I do things like this, I like to get more information on the process. I like to consult my personal vast on demand library, I like to call it the internet. Maybe there was a process already there that makes it simple to do, or maybe there are rules of which I need to follow so I don’t break or mess it up any further that its current state. I like to be prepared before I go into surgery.

So I was browsing my favorite library of video instructions, youtube. I came across the following videos that visually demonstrated how to take apart and put back together two different kinds of Seagate External Harddrives.

How to open a 1.5 TB Seagate FreeAgent Desk External Hard Drive:

How to open Seagate Freeagent 500GB Case:

These are the videos that I will use to guide me through checking the connection. If all else fails, I’ll just be sending it in to Seagate because my hard drive has a 5 year warranty on it. If you’d like to know the conditions or limits on your Seagate warranty, visit the Seagate website and look for your specific product. I did, it’s how I knew how long the warranty on my specific drive was.

These videos show you how to open up the case and remove the hard drive inside. You could also replace this hard drive with a new one if the current hard drive is salvageable.

Have a great day!

Explore posts in the same categories: Computer Resolutions

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

